Bishop’s University Model UN Team 
shines in New York

SHERBROOKE — The Bishop’s University Model UN team was named an ‘Outstanding Delegation’ at the 2016 National Model United Nations (NMUN) Conference, the highest honour given by the annual conference held in New York City.


More than over 4,000 students from schools all over the world participated.

In addition, two Bishop’s students, Hannah McLean and Emma Fingler, received the “Outstanding Delegates” award for their work.

These honours come on the heels of the Quebec Model United Nations (QMUN) conference, which was held at Bishop’s in early February.

“I’m very proud our entire delegation, which performed brilliantly and continued our long tradition of success at NMUN,’’ said Dr. Sarah-Myriam Martin-Brûlé, a professor in the Department of Politics and International Studies, who directed the students this year.

Year after year, Bishop’s stands out at NMUN. Since the first club team in 1997, student delegations have been recognized for excellence, including multiple awards for outstanding position papers, distinction for work in individual committees, overall Honorable Mentions, as well as Distinguished Delegation Awards.

The NMUN is a comprehensive and intense simulation of United Nations sessions. It allows students to take leadership positions, resolve conflicts and participate in negotiations. Each participating school forms delegations assigned to a country, and delegations are honoured for properly representing their designated country, participating effectively in committees and proper use of rules and procedure.

“Over the years, our ‘United Nations Practicum’ course has consistently prepared our students for this event,” Dr. Sarah-Myriam Martin-Brûlé said. “The course has been very effective in developing their research, analytical, writing, and debating skills in a practical setting.’’

The full team consisted of: Abigail Vandzura, Heather Barlow, Melissa Rusanganwa, Natalie Hickey, Felicia Benbow, Esther Peev, Alyssa Duchesneau-Custeau, Hannah McLean, Oscar Veron, Jennifer Rooney, Tegan Belrose, Alexander Van Beers, Edgardo Alegria, Nicholas Blanchette, Reilly Canie, Mackenzie Vezina, Marion Clech, and Emma Fingler. The two head delegates were Rinsola Oyawoye and Michael Chuang.

The Model UN program is funded by student fees and fundraising.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.